Amour fou

I have a deep yearning for clunky, almost orthopedic lace-up sandals this year.  Who can explain the heart’s desires?

I fell completely in love, head over platform heels, with these:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But they cost $398.   I’m dangerously free-spending on shoes, but even I have my limits, so these won’t be mine.

I have long been enamored of these, which Amazon just restocked in my size.

 

I’ve seen these on a fashionable acquaintance, and these are not shoes that look clunky in the photo but sleek and lithe on the foot.  Nope, in person they look, if anything, even MORE orthopedic.  And yet, I still love them, and would buy them if they were $100 rather than $175 (Oh cruel e-commerce! These were available in my size this morning, but some other free-spender with niche taste has snagged them for herself.  I salute her.)

After I cleaned up 8 profuse dog accidents this weekend, I prevailed upon Daniel to buy me these.  It works out to $7 bucks per accident.  After accident #4, I would have quite gladly paid someone else much more to clean up.

 

 

 

 

 

It’s ridiculous for me to have these shoes.  I have a proliferation of sandals and they are all either 1) black; 2) brown; 3) platforms; or 4) wedges.  So of course I fell for a shoe that was all of those things at once.  If anything, I should have saved up for something trendy and tropical looking.  But I love them.

 

5 responses to “Amour fou

  1. I am wearing today a purchase inspired by your shoe posts from last fall: http://www.amazon.com/Poetic-Licence-Womens-Backlash-Pump/dp/B004P4MIAM/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1332345505&sr=8-6
    Everyone loves them except my husband, who thinks they are witch shoes.
    You could never get $398 of value out of the top pair, but oh, how lovely! May have to buy the ones you got, though like you I do not need any more brown or black wedges!

    • Husband are not often the best judge of shoes, particularly shoes that are (correctly) admired by other women. Yours are fab. The ones I got are fun, and the wedge is very light. A little high for me, but worth it — at least till I fall and twist an ankle. Until then, I recommend them.

  2. This will not be helpful, but I Love these!!! SO cool. I also understand not wanting to spend $400 on a pair of shoes as I don’t think I’ve ever spent that much on a pair of shoes… $150 is a splurge for me… oh but so tempting…

    • I know… it’s insane, but you feel the pull, and you imagine that they just might be worth it, might be perfect, might be everything you ever wanted. Er, maybe that’s just me. I did buy a very expensive pair of shoes once (store credit, poor impulse control) and they weren’t worth it. I’ll keep them for as long as they still fit me, and I do wear them, just not enough to justify the expense. But aren’t these just beautiful and wonderful-seeming? I’m glad the exist so I can look at them and enjoy them that way. I also have an eBay search going for this brand in my size. So far no gems yet, but maybe one day…

      • Ebay is a smart place to look… and yes, there is that feeling “oh maybe they will be entirely perfect!” I totally know what you mean. They really are beautiful… Someone once said to me how we often imagine an item/situation to be perfect because it is only in our mind and that the reality can be entirely different… I think it is definitely be this way w/shoes & clothing lusts…

Leave a comment