If you see something, say something

Never feel that a comment is unimportant.  New commenter normalwasnotmygoal noted that in this post I had a surfeit of “shoulds.”   Her comment led to a wonderful realization about openness, grace, and acceptance that made Yom Kippur especially rich and meaningful for me this year.  Thank you very much for seeing and saying.  That’s what this space is for.

Notwithstanding my Yom Kippur insights, it’s been a very rough few days.  I hope Sukkot, which starts tomorrow night, brings some peace.

I wrote this note to myself in a Moleskine notebook I threw in my bag before a business trip yesterday.  (The word that’s cut off is “breath.”)  The glare from my gel ink (sparkly purple! wheeee!) may obscure the rest as well.  But I’m posting this anyway, as a reminder to myself that I have cleverness, and creativity, and imagination, and resources, and hope.

9 responses to “If you see something, say something

  1. I am new to this (courage to blog), but your ability to remain “raw” is refreshing.

    • You’re very dear to comment. I am glad you appreciate what you find here. I confess that I wish that I could be less raw, or rather that there was less necessity for me to feel raw. But this is the place I have made to be that way. One day, I will have a nice, relaxing stretch of blogging about dresses, yoga, and books.

  2. I love this! The concept of return is so redemptive here.

  3. Ok, not to be picky, but……normalwasnotmyintention is much to formal…..

    I love a good comment too!!

    • Oh I’m so embarrassed!! Thanks for pointing it out. I’ll correct the mistake immediately. If you search previous posts, you’ll see that “intention” is a word and concept I use a lot. And because I’m so failure averse, I have real issues around the word “goal” (what if I set a goal and don’t achieve it? Intolerable — never mind that it happens all the time whether or not I put words to it). So I think my unconscious mind was messing with your blog title there.

  4. i love! perfect reminder written in the perfect place 🙂

  5. how completely right those words are – and they work, they return me

    I wish you well and though I’m not online much, I think of you.

    • I’m so glad you took the time to come back and comment. It’s very nice to see you here again. I’m not online much myself, and when I am, it’s as a writer not a reader. But I’m eager to catch up with you, wherever you are now (in every sense).

Leave a comment