Elevated

I know — I’ve skipped two poems for Wednesday.  It’s been that busy.  Last night I dreamed I was working at the law firm where I had been a summer associate many years ago.  When I woke up, I realized that the dream made perfect sense: I’ve been working lawyer’s hours (almost).

Today I dreaded going to work.  I was tired, uninspired, lacking in confidence, entirely droopy.  I have a bad haircut.  I’ve been (way) off my A-game sartorially (with one brilliant exception last week).  Everything seems impossible and exhausting.  As I was preparing to leave the house I realized that, as much as I wanted to wear slipper-like flats at work, I needed armor.  So I wore these instead:

And it worked!  In these shoes, I am a giantess.  I am a force.  I stomp around and get stuff done.  My mood improved considerably.

 

 

2 responses to “Elevated

  1. oh, YES! Own the office.
    I haven’t bought good shoes in ages. I need a pair to elevate a nice dress from party/cocktail to wedding-worthy. The dress is brown with some sequin-y detailing at the neck, hem, and armholes. Help!

  2. These shoes are hot! I love them. It is amazing how clothes or shoes can really make a huge difference in your attitude and day.

    Hope the work load lightens more soon.

Leave a comment