Shoes, anotated

Today I am thankful that I have found a space between me and my panic about a particular work project.  It may not make the next week at work any easier, or the outcome of a big undertaking any better, but not panic is better than panic.

I am so exhausted I’m almost silly.  But I do want to post, just for posting’s sake.  So I’m posting something silly.  Below are the shoes that I have on my Amazon wish list.   I store shoes there, and I look at them almost every day, and eventually I get sick of them and take them off the list.  It’s the apotheosis of disposable culture — I throw it away before I have it.  (All photos from Amazon)

Dansko canvas clog with bouncy rubber bottom.  My Converse don’t fit properly and don’t  support my feet properly.  I’ll wear these to synagogue and on weekends.   I’ll buy them soon.

Corso como pump.  I can’t decide if I like these or find them not quite right.   They remind me of shoes my mother wore or would have worn in the 1970s, and that may be enough for me, once they go on sale.  I would find it convenient to have this color summer heels.

These shoes are all from the same designer, Luiza Barcelos.  I’ve never seen her shoes in real life, but I quite like these designs.  The green pair is so goofy looking I have to love it (it also comes in a leopard print, which is too much for me, at least in this style).  I also have a pair of black flats with a pink rosette on my wish list.  The black wedges and green flats are on sale.  I do like those green flats, but I worry they’ll be insufficiently padded and not look good with anything.  I have prominent, bony ankles and muscular calves, and that cut probably won’t do me any favors.   And yet… I may buy them just to look at them and then return them.  The kick would be worth the $4 return shipping fee.

I’ve had fairly good luck with Tsubos, and again I’m looking for beige.  (Did I really just type that?  “I’m looking for beige”?  Oy vey.)  Also on my wish list in shiny black.  They may be too sporty.  Oh dear.  I am looking for beige and sedate.  Please intervene.

Why these?  I’m not sure.  They also come in bright green which I really love , but the green isn’t available in my size.  When I put them on my wishlist, they cost $65.  Now, thanks to some kind of dynamic pricing algorithm, they are $116, and therefore will not be mine.  I would pay that much for perfect walking sandals, because the cost per mile walked would be approximately 5 cents, but I can’t walk well enough in platforms to justify it for these.  I do like looking at them.

I’m playing chicken with Amazon to see how low the price of these boots will get before they run out of my size.  They also come in purple suede, which I ordered earlier this year.  I almost kept the purple ones, because they were really comfortable and I wanted to dare myself to commit to zany winter boots.  But they were half a size too big and they were really purple.  Muppet purple.  11-year-old girl purple.  Hell, 3-year-old girl purple.  And I started to worry that this was the first step towards becoming that kind of expressive 40-something whose choices go far past creative and expressive and are mired in kooky.  I saw someone wearing this black pair and they looked amazing.

This was a really fun post to write.   I feel less enervated.  Do you feel like you know me better now that you have a glimpse of my taste in shoes?

 

 

4 responses to “Shoes, anotated

  1. hilarious! I do the same thing – put off getting something so long that I end up no longer wanting it (or being unable to find it anywhere). I don’t know if you need intervention – if you saw the state of my shoes… you’d take pity on me for sure and try to save me from utter frumpery. I seriously only own one and a half pairs of decent looking shoes (yes, one pair is only half decent). The rest are uber-functional (read: old lady in the making? oh heaven help me. I need to win the lottery, or… even less imaginable, stop being such a poet/dreamer/at-home-mom and get a career so I can be paid more often than my part time editing gig…)

    I am so looking forward to warmer weather and a corresponding change in wardrobe.

    • I sympathize. But I realized that, for myself, I need to figure out how to do better with what I have (which is a lot). Otherwise I keep buying things that aren’t quite right, or repeat what I already have. And I am so ready for warmer weather myself, I hardly know what to do. Today at least was sunny, but it’s still very chilly and damp (yes, sunny and damp).

  2. i love this post. Very fun. There is nothing wrong with beige! sometimes it is a good accent. I love the Corso pumps. Those are fabulous looking (of course, I love most things that look like the 1960s/1970s) and the Luiza Barcelos shoes are great! very funky.

    • Oh thank you. I appreciate your perspective since you’re younger and live in a more stylish city than I do. Those LB shoes would be a disaster on me, I just know it. And yet… they seem very 1950s European. That’s exactly what the wish list is for — I can visit them, but have no responsibility for them.

Leave a comment